Natural Relief For Anxiety

I love autumn.

I love the different shades of the leaves. I love the deep pink, the bright orange, the graceful gold and fading green. I love the bursts of colour. I love the way the leaves just lie there effortlessly, beautifully.

Autumn has this calming effect on me. When the silent heat of my panic attack wraps itself around my neck, along my back and across my stomach, clogging up my mind, the autumn breeze gently soothes it away. Like the heat of anxiety, it is silent and like the heat, it is powerful.

Sometimes just taking a walk through the park and admiring God’s creation is enough to clear up my mind and enable me to break free from the clutches of meaningless yet uncontrollable fear, even if it’s just for moments.

Image

                                                If we look closely we can find beauty in the things that are taken for granted.

Lesson that I have learnt: Take time out to ponder God’s creation,to enjoy nature, to absorb beauty.

My panic attacks/anxiety has rooted itself so deep within me that feel as though I have no control over it. It comes and goes whenever it pleases.  Sometimes I feel like there is electricity shooting within my scalp. The heat spreads itself across my body. Sometimes it crawls from the tips of my shoulders  to my arms. Sometimes it slides down my sides. Almost always I feel as though my face and ears are as hot as the sun, however when I touch my face it is cool.

By taking time out to think and ponder, my mind and body are in awe and there is no room for negativity.

How do you deal with panic attacks? I’d love to read your tips!

 

Leave a Reply

